Last day

Last day of 'Words by the Water' and what a great event it has been. And I have only bought three books - that has to be a record!
 
We started the day with a talk by Carolyne Larrington, scholar in medieval English literature, about the link between the Middle Ages and 'Game of Thrones'. A fascinating talk, but I did feel a bit out of it, being obviously the only one in the audience who has neither read any of the books nor seen any of the TV version. When Gordon, who is a great fan of both, asked a question at the end, I hadn't a clue what he was talking about.
 
Then we went our separate ways. I think Gordon was going to something about Portugal's navigators. Anyway he ended the day with a big book, which amazingly he had signed as well. Meanwhile I wandered through the park and round Keswick. I think this has been the first warm day - it was great to be able to walk around without hat and gloves and to actually sit in the park and read . . . in the sun. I avoided the Lake, as it was thronging with people, but it was good to see everyone out walking in the sunshine. 
 
Eventually I went to the final talk - Ben Okri. What a guy. I was not too sure about the set up of having someone on the stage with him asking him questions; I think he would have managed perfectly well on his own. But he was a delight to listen to, especially when he read his poetry.
 
Another fine festival and plenty to read and think about.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.