The Haze of High Pressure

Today has turned out to be very ordinary. Nothing eventful nor exciting to report.

I'd thought about roaming the river bank at Zouch to look for a suitable viewpoint for a misty photo, should the mist continue in the mornings, but instead went out with Len and Basil to Nanpantan. Basil gets a good run there.

This view was taken across the football field of Loughborough Dynamo. The club had been playing today. By the time we got there, almost everyone had gone save for the lad in the bottom right hand corner of the photo who was probably waiting for a lift.

When high pressure sits across the country, the mist tends to linger all day, which is why you get an impression of recession. The haze isn't really conducive to photography of the surroundings. 

I suppose I did achieve something. I printed out seven photos on pearl lustre paper to take with me to the Photography Show for a PAGB rep to cast his eye over in case PBAG deigns to accept my prints as 'club competition standard.' Even the rules concede that judges mark differently and that any individual judge can mark differently at different times.

As Len says, it's all subjective. But I may be a little more fortunate than the FRPS I met the other week who is continually frustrated at being turned down for PAGB awards. As a member of RPS, she has been used to preparing panels. PAGB looks at each print individually. The two concepts are mutually exclusive. I learned this two years ago when I went to a PAGB seminar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.