Patrona

By patrona

Drive By

At the outskirts of the village is a bar called Las Covas, owned by a very versatile chap called Cisco. Why versatile? Well he not only owns the bar but also farms and has a lucrative sideline in emptying septic tanks with the aid of his tractor and a tanker trailer. He has been a regular visitor to our house and performed a splendid service. When we built the pool we were given a telephone number of someone who delivers water from the well, so rather than pay the exorbitant water charge for public water we phoned and lo and behold up turned Cisco, trailer and all and decanted well water into the waiting pool.

All this has nothing really to do with my blip, but as I was passing the bar last night I saw a line of classic cars arrayed outside. Unable to stop I did a detour through the village and returned to Las Covas just in time to see a World War one ambulance pulling away, I had missed all but one of the cars on the rally.

I wasn't even able to ascertain the make, just that it bore a British registration and looked in superb condition. Among the others was a baby Austin, and I think a pre war Ford.

I have looked in vain for the locations of any vintage rallies this weekend and can find none. Another of lifes mysteries. Almost as puzzling as how Cisco manages to clean the tanker trailer between one enterprise and the other?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.