horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

No Loading...

Well no. You're not going to be able to load anything in that loadable truck for all the No Loading cones you've loaded in it... Sorry, seemed the funny side of ironic to me...

Cones cones everywhere. Came across yet another road 'realignment' this morning on my ride to work. Suddenly a road is one-way, so out of the saddle it was and walk along. I'd hate to be a tourist in a hire car within Edinburgh just now, the place is a nightmare. All for the wonder that will be the tram line.

It's funny how things like this get divisions drawn. If you're a tofu-knitting-sandal-wearing-beardy-weirdy-save-the-planeter then you must be in favour of this new/old form of public transport; if you're a daily-driving-obstruction-hating-get-out-of-my-way-motorist then you despair at 'your' road being taken away.

Riding to work everyday I am automatically lumped in with those in favour, but to be honest little could be further from the truth. But even this isn't so black and white. Yes indeedy, I am grey. It's this specific implementation of what could be a good idea that I object to. It's an opportunity wasted that is simply riling people and creating these false divisions.

The same happened with the proposed congestion charge. Again, as a daily cyclist I must have been for it right? Hell, I even started up a website against it. Not against 'congestion charging' understand, but against the way in which this scheme was being implemented. London was lauded as a massive success, so what do the people in charge here do? Completely change the scheme in such a manner that it wouldn't have stopped anyone living within the city from using their car. Congestion charging is a brilliant idea, when done properly. A missed opportunity.

I actually wrote to the local Green MSPs about the scheme, worried that they were backing it wholeheartedly. I got an admission from them that in its current form it wouldn't work, with the caveat that it's easier to change it once it's in. The problem is when something is sold with half-truths and gradiose promises based on things that have worked elsewhere that differ from the current implementation, it's not going to get in in the first place. A little more thought and honesty from the outset and who knows what the situation would now be. A missed opportunity.

For some reason in this modern world, however, we're not allowed to be grey. Merely black or white. You're for us or against us. Don't you try and bring your reason, diplomacy and common sense to the table. Pick a side!

I'll continue to refuse to do so. I am not defined by the transport choice I make, in the same way that I am not defined by what I like for dinner, how my hair is cut, or orange being one of my favourite colours (no, I don't want to join your march).

Are you for or against? A loaded question.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.