Third_eye

By Third_eye

Two favourite cameras

I have owned or used many cameras since I first became interested in photography while still at school in the closing year of WW2, ranging from half-plate field cameras through 6x6cm TLRs and 35mm rangefinder and SLR film, but these two I currently own and really like a lot are special to me because of the iconic inscription "Leica". 

My 1940 Leica IIIc from the last batch released for general sale in Germany before production was switched to military use holds memories because my first ever published newspaper photograph was taken with a Leica (although I bought this one several years later) and the second camera shown here is a Lumix LX-7 from Panasonic (current owners of the Leica brand) - a compact digital with detachable tilting electronic viewfinder. 

I have not used the Leica for about 30 years but I keep intending to buy a film and get it processed just to see if this 76 year old work-horse, nearly as old as I am, still has any life left in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.