Brides

My camera and I walked round Bonn for an hour and a half this morning trying to get under its manicured and carefully protected skin and we couldn't. I found postcards and I found beggars, neither of which I want to photograph.

Half an hour on the train and we were in Cologne which is completely different: brides running round street corners, workers striding along railway tracks, kitchen workers leaning on bins for a quick smoke, a mournful accordion player behind the cathedral, Mark Rylance standing at one end of the bridge quietly holding a pile of papers under his arm and smiling enigmatically at passers-by as he waited, and waited...

Or maybe it was his doppelgänger.

And now I'm home and straight back to work. Like, I mean, this evening. The employer who, in an unsympathetic email on the day I went away, forced that deathline on me received their very last pound of flesh at 23:58 tonight. Before that email I'd intended to concede some blood, maybe even some future sweat but that will not now happen.

The extra is the Kennedy Bridge in Bonn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.