Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Always Look UP!

People know me, know how much I love photographing birds.  People who know me very well, know that I love photographing churches and cemeteries.  The art, architecture, and history found in both places is unreal.  I am always on the look out for new and unusual statues or statues with a history.  I also have terrible eyesight so my camera does a lot of my 'seeing' for me.  

In a little, historic town called Paris, Ontario, is a beautiful, older church.  I was hoping to get inside as I hear that the statues are inside are magnificent.  I was delighted to see that this church is 19th century Gothic Revival but disappointed to discover that we could not gain access.  As I was photographing the outside, I noticed a 'head' far above the entrance.  Mostly in shadow, I didn't know how well this photo would turn out.

My first reaction when I saw what I had photographed was delight, obviously, and then sadness that such art goes unappreciated. As this church's name is Sacred Heart, a very fitting carving!  Now I need to return to attend Mass here so that I can see (and hopefully) photograph the interior!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.