BRIANW

By BRIANW

You Are Here (If You Could Only Look Hard Enough)

Today started off so well, if a little bit hungover(!), with a walk through Hyde Park to work. It was a sparkling, bright morning. Then all of a sudden out of a clear blue sky came the dark, black clouds, claps of thunder and torrential rain of a really bad panic attack. I hadn't had one for a few months but this one hit with real force and I felt I couldn't outrun it unless I managed to get somewhere I felt safe - away from work and enclosed spaces. Luckily, my friend managed to get hold of me and help me calm down and realise it would pass if I just gave it some time - I so appreciated her kind, thoughtful words.
When I feel this low I often head to the South Bank for some reason - I need to be near water, near the flowing river. Today's shot was taken there - sometimes I feel like the insignificant red dot and other times like the blurry, dark shadow but what always helps me in situations like this is having my camera with me, feeling as if I'm doing something creative. 
On my way to the train home I managed to come across a brilliant exhibition of photographs by Jim Grover called "Of Things Unseen". It was a beautiful, heartfelt set of images about a priest working in inner city London. I managed to speak to the photographer himself and he signed a copy of his book for me. So even really bad days can end so well and photography was at the heart of it for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.