54stairs

By MarnieL

Easter Cactus

Yesterday's macro was of the tip of a leaf of a flowering Easter Cactus. The extra photo shows the spot on the plant that was the subject of yesterday's photo. The long hairs on the tip that look like spikes are actually very soft little hairs that are only 1/16" to 1/8". The little red spots are a bud that is just starting to emerge. 

I love the flowers of the Holiday Cacti. This past fall, my mom potted a piece of a Christmas Cactus plant that she inherited from my Grandmother (we think it is at least 40-50 years old) and she brought it to me when she came to visit. The plant is thriving, but it refuses to flower. I have tried everything - drought, starvation, same spot, changing spots, fertilizer... The plant seems to like how it has been treated just a little bit too much and has tripled in size without offering even a single blossom.

So, a couple of weeks ago, in an effort to demonstrate (and shame maybe a little bit), that it is possible for a Christmas Cactus to flower, I purchased another cactus that is now sitting next to my special plant. The desired effect has not been achieved, but at least there are pretty flowers to enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.