willthebruce

By WilltheBruce

Jacob's Ladder

That's the name joggers and fitness fanatics call these seemingly unending steps in Greenwich Park.

They not usually used by 'normal' park users because they are a bit out of the way and don't directly lead to anywhere

But they're very popular early morning and pre-dusk with people trying to stay fit or increase their fitness levels

And it's not a case of once up and that's it. I've seen people running up and down several times in one session and I'm told 12 reps of up and down is considered quite a good performance!

I'd forgotten all about these till I spotted them as I took a different walk around the park at lunchtime

Perhaps one day I'll even attempt to climb up them. There are terrific views from the top

And as for the Chancellor's Budget ... words fail me. I reckon I could have my benefits cut by between £2,000-£3,000. Im worried about how I'm going to survive

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.