Spooky Hollow

There is a stand of big trees at Millbrook Marsh. They are reachable off the end of one corner of the boardwalk, just after the bridge over Slab Cabin Run. I go to visit them occasionally, usually when the path isn't too muddy.

On this morning, the light wasn't so hot. In fact, it was rather light-challenged, to be honest. The trees looked big and dark and spooky (or "fooky," as my husband likes to say), so I used the darkness to its best advantage, to try to make the tree in my photo (a bur oak) look even craggier and SPOOKIER.

I am not afraid of trees; not even big, spooky ones like this. In fact, I adore them. And I think my next little photo book (already in the planning stages) just might be a book celebrating some of my favorite trees. I have begun making a list of the trees I want to include - happy thoughts!  :-)

The song to accompany this spooky tree image is I Put a Spell on You. Originally released by Screamin' Jay Hawkins, it was also covered by Creedence Clearwater Revival, Annie Lennox, Bette Midler (in the film Hocus Pocus), Nina Simone, and others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.