... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

University Parks: Chionodoxa

Spot the droplet in large.

I've been walking on air today: an email came informing me that I'm to be awarded a ZSL prize for my undergraduate project on avian aerodynamics! I didn't even know that it had been entered, but it turns out that the biology department submits the highest-scoring zoology project each year. There's an award ceremony at ZSL in June, so that's super-exciting!

The email was beautifully timed: I was finishing up the first draft of my current short project (sent in at lunchtime), feeling rather uninspired by my project progress, and then the email arrived reminding me that I can do robust, successful, and satisfying work... 
I'm soon moving back to bird flight: I'll be picking up my previous project work where I left it last year, developing the methodology further, and using it as an excuse to chase birds with cameras* for the foreseeable future... Roll on April.

I've uploaded some other floral macros to Flickr (right from here).
Highlights:
Grape hyacinths against gold
Grape hyacinth with banded background bokeh: 1 & 2
Grape hyacinth and diagonals
Grape hyacinth & Chionodoxa [= blip alternative]

* I'll have cameras and be chasing birds; I'm yet to find a single bird that takes photographs...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.