Bom

By Bom

What're You Looking At?

I finally returned to a walking for health walk this morning around part of Caldecotte Lake in Milton Keynes.  This is one of the balancing lakes built in MK to prevent flooding from the two rivers that run through it (in this case the River Ouzel).  It's also used for leisure including water sports.

Most people think there was nothing but farmland pre MK, but it was actually built in an area including a number of towns and villages. Caldecotte is an ancient village and parish who's name means 'cold cottage' i.e. a resting place for travellers.  Actually, pre history the area was at the bottom of a primeval sea.  When Caldecotte Lake was built they found the fossil of an ichthyosaur which is now on display , I think in the main library.

I just had time before the walk started to take a quick snap of the ducks with my compact camera.  This one made me laugh as you could almost see the male do a double take when the female went by (well I hope they're male and female).  

P.S. I've been told they're both males, so it's probably a look that says back off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.