All the better to see you with

I’m quite fond of wolf spiders. It’s something to do with their faces – the binocular vision they use for hunting makes them seem more familiar than the 360° vision approach of many insects. Having said that, I’m always frustrated by the inability to identify Pardosa wolf spiders to species level – without dissecting them (which is something I don’t plan to start doing).

With insect macro photography the photographer has to concentrate so hard on the technical aspects (simply getting the bloody thing in focus) that the end result is often a very boring image. I like this shot of a female Pardosa because it portrays a bit more of the character of these fascinating creatures.

Pardosa species, 3 image focus stack.
http://wp.me/pieTR-xz

Also - thanks to everyone for all the kind comments and hearts, etc, on yesterday's moss blip. To be honest, I'd like a break from moss for a while, but people still seem to like to see them here! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.