Stairwell

It’s been a while since I’ve had time to visit the building site. The demolition (extra) is eating its way backwards into the 1970s shopping centre, now closed, and this stairwell is the first construction on the part of the site I’ve watched being cleared since last March. New metal and concrete replacing old metal and concrete.
 
Landmarks disappeared long ago and as the work progresses temporary ‘roads’ through the site for buses are rerouted and rerouted, making it increasingly difficult to remember where things used to be. Even walking round with an old map doesn’t help me place where previous buildings were, though I used to know the area far too well to need a map. It’s disconcerting.


A sight today to make me think. A man twitching in the road near a homeless hostel, surrounded by paramedics and police. I assumed it was the result of Spice, much used in Oxford, and I heard a policeman ask the guy whether he'd been smoking. No answer, which probably was some sort of answer. Those who happen to fall over in the nearby bushes are just left to sleep it off. They very rarely need hospital. It seems callous to move him out of the road and dump him on the pavement but what should they do? Should he be treated any differently because he happened to pass out while crossing the road?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.