Love is Like a Butterfly

L is for Love - of course!

Continuing the Alpha(Bet) males - The life in my men in my life July challenge.

Love is like a butterfly! This one is a Large Skipper.

Liam. oh yes, luscious Liam from Liverpool.

The one that got away!

I met Liam in a club in Devon while I was working as a waitress.

He was different from anyone I had ever met before, very long curly hair a full beard and the most sensational lilac-blue eyes. And the most glorious Scouse accent.

He was working in another hotel, in the kitchens. There was instant attraction without a doubt.

The most extraordinary thing though, was that he was living, unbeknown to the owners, in a garden shed. This was so far outside my comfort zone that I kept him at arms-length.

There was always a such joy at seeing each other, the like of which I had not experienced before. We talked for hours, there was the occasional smoochy dance, long slow walks along the beach in the moonlight, even a skinny dip or two in the early hours, yet never more than a goodnight peck on the cheek when he walked me home, before he carried on to his shed.

He would disappear for a few days at a time, but always came back to find me and it was during one of his absences that I got called home due to a family illness.

There was boundless chemistry but I never let it progress to physics or biology....

And sometimes I wonder, just a little bit, what might have been.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.