La vida de Annie

By Annie

Patricia y el alcalde

Went to the Ayuntamiento in Es Mercadal today with my Spanish friend Patricia on her saint's day. The purpose was to find out if I can hold an exhibition in the local hall, and my friend was there to explain in Catalan just what I wanted.The lady clerk was very helpful and helped me fill in an application form. I could have had Easter as the hall is empty at the moment, but it's too short notice. Instead, avoiding fiesta dates, I opted for two weeks in August at the height of the tourist season. The application will go before the mayor for approval and they'll let me know. On the way out we bumped into the mayor himself, who seems a very nice man, and Patricia explained our errand - she thinks he'll be ok with it. More hopeful news - one of her pupils, a Spaniard learning English from her, has recently taken over a restaurant in the town, and was interested in Patri's suggestion that she may like to have some of my artwork on the walls in there. Hopefully I'll meet her next week to sort something out.
To round off an unusually successful day, we had a lovely dogwalk at Sa Mesquida, where the beach was empty and the waves were booming. A great way to blow away the cobwebs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.