Ye Olde Boot Inn

This was taken from Eastgate Street rows in Chester. Where I am standing the Boot Inn occupies row level while a shop occupies street level. It is a Grade II listed building.

As the sign indicates Ye Olde Boot Inn was opened as a public house in 1643. While checking out the details I was reminded that the front section of the building at Row level used to be occupied by a barber's shop, with a corridor leading to the public house beyond it. I used to go to this barber's in the late 1970s and early 1980s. Alterations and restorations were carried out to the building in 1988 and since then the whole of the Row level has been occupied by a pub. Meanwhile the barber's has moved out to Hoole and the same guy who cut my hair then is still cutting what is left of my hair now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.