Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

At swim-two-guards

behind winter trees
silver specks shone in the light
the swiss guards' spirits

I made a discovery this morning. My train to Paris was running late and we actually stopped. Looking out the window, I saw this and took a photo (well, two). Only later did I wonder what the water expanse in the background was.

I knew (of course) what station we were about to reach (or rather: which station we were to reach next) and could look at a map to find out.

It is actually the "Pièce d'eau des Suisses", dug out by Louis XIV's Swiss Guards between 1679 and 1684. It is nearly 700 metres in length and more than 200 in width and is the southernmost point of the gardens of the palace of Versailles. The swimming leg of the Versailles triathlon takes place there in May. It really looked nice. We'll go soon.

I hope fans of Irish literature will pardon my title. I've not even read the actual novel...

A few more in Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.