Hopeton01

By Hopeton01

Hopeton01 - Shoe Museum

"I used to complain that I had no shoes - 
                          until I met someone who had no feet . . ."

Took a group of youngsters to the Northampton Shoe Museum - home to the largest collection of shoes in the world (12,000, since you ask!) It traces the international history of shoes from the Egyptians right through to the present day. An amazing place to see and even had the kinds of platforms and wedge shoes I wore in the 1970's!!

My blip shows some  shoe-making equipment for the contemporary, square-toe style, mens shoe.

Most intriguing for the youngsters and for me were the genuine shoes worn by adult Chinese women whose feet had been bound in childhood forcing them to remain the same size as in infancy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.