The return of the winter jasmine

This morning I spotted that TMLHereAndThere had just posted an offering to Flower Friday challenge, so I thought I would do the same.  At least I wouldn't have to think too much about a new subject.  There were only two reasonable possibilities in the house, so I put them both in the scene.

The red flower is a pelargonium and is the first of its flowers to open this year. The winter jasmine currently sits on the kitchen window and seems to be very happy. I gave it a very hard trim some while ago and that seems to have encouraged a lot of buds, which are now flowering.  Their smell is lovely too.

As I was finishing taking a couple of pictures, I suddenly turned around and looked through the patio windows down the garden.  There I saw a rather ragged furred fox nuzzling the ground under the rhus tree where the sunflowers often spill from the bird feeders.  I quickly whipped my camera round and tried to focus but the settings and the macro lens were still set for the close up of the jasmine, so not ideal. As it walked quickly away I noticed it limping rather severely so it is probably finding it hard to feed itself and is forced to rely on the back gardens. I have added a snap of the fox in the 'Extra photos'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.