Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

The alpaca of Saltaire

Two alpaca look across to Salt's mill and the village of Saltaire, where I spent most of my childhood. I was persuaded to visit them again following blipping of some real ones by chrissel.
The mill was built to make cloth from the fleece of alpaca after the builder of the mill and village, Titus Salt, had worked out a way to process the fleece of alpaca, which he had come upon by chance. The magnificent skyline is the result of the mill being built in Italianate style and the impressive Congregational church. The tall mill chimney was much more impressive when I was a child with an ornate top which was taken off when deemed to be unsafe. A pity; it looks sadly unfinished now. I am sure now it would be restored rather than dismantled.
The mill was opened on Titus's 50th birthday, in 1853. When I was a child it was still working and many of our neighbours worked at home - burling and mending the cloth from the mill. Now it houses works of David Hockney, shops and a diner.
The alpaca are in what was created as a park for the mill workers, Saltaire park. Now it is named Roberts Park after a subsequent owner, and that family still keeps alpaca a few miles away.
Close by is a statue of Titus Salt (extra), erected on his 100th birthday, the 50th anniversary of the mill being opened. Unlike the alpaca, he has his back to his mill and village. That seems odd to me. Perhaps it was so he could better listen to the music from the bandstand, as I often did in the past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.