year29

By year29

Day 132

Today turned out far more positively than I was expecting (family dramz). B & I took advantage of the last morning of our City Pass and hit up the National Museum of Iceland especially for the Feminism Exhibit and ended up thoroughly enjoying the entire museum.

Then we nommed at a phenomenal vegetarian buffet and hung out at Reykjavik Roasters to write out some postcards. Met up with the family for a visit to the craft store (where lava beads are way way cheaper than finished jewelry at the tourist shops) and sent some postcards off at the post office.

On our way back home, my cousin/aunt Cindy spotted a second hand store with lopapesas in the window. Thank goodness for that as we SCORED on some finds and I got my sweater (5500 kr), a sweater for my friend who is dogsitting for me (2500 kr) and a sweater for another friend's upcoming baby (2000 kr) all told for less than what I thought was gonna be the best priced sweater in town (12500 kr). The lady at the shop was SO LOVELY and gave me a pin for free since she saw the other pins I was collecting on my cowl and said we made her day. She explained that the shop is a charity shop that helps the homeless and she was so happy to help us find the perfect lopi (she came up to me with mine and handed it to me all like "This one is for you." and it fits like a dream.

Now B and I are at Cafe Babalú, an absolute heaven of a cafe that might make my heart explode with love. Every possible moment for the remainder of this trip that isn't filled with excursions or yarn shopping will happen here.

Ah, so loving it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.