The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Love and Adoration

My father always said that the most important thing a human can do is to admit when they are wrong and to make it right.

Perhaps I underestimated what blip meant to me. Perhaps I also underestimated what my blips meant to others. And a photograph sitting on a hard drive is simply data and adds nothing to the notion of journaling one's life. When I "signed off" after 200 blips, it seemed the logical thing to do given my over-burdened schedule. But logic is a function of the brain and not the heart and, in this instance I needed to listen to my heart.

First there were your comments on my 200th blip. They left me with immediate remorse for saying goodbye and also left a huge void in my heart. But I thought I would still give my decision a try. Certainly the fact that I have more "to-dos" than I could possibly have time meant that a change was in order. But the void remained. And, then, there was the encounter of my father's autobiography on my bed stand lat night and, with it, the sudden realization that I will never, ever be as organized as he. It was then that I realized that blip may be the only record of my life other than vague memories of who, when, why, where and how. Finally, there was a letter that I opened today from a person who means the world to me. She is mostly housebound and is experiencing great health issues in her life. She said that my images and words brought her joy and she told me that my blips were the one of the biggest highlights of her day. She asked me to carry on.

So I am back for hopefully the long haul. I will make no promises about blipping every day though that remains a goal of mine. It might mean more compromised images and a few more cell phone blips or, perhaps, none at all some days. I will try to see as many images as possible for the joy and inspiration they bring to me. And I will likely be forced to comment less but hopefully still comment with substance and meaning. despite these cahnges, I will remain steadfast in my awe and appreciation for you all and your images and words. And I always be thankful to you for making me feel so deeply a part of blip.


We had an amazing weekend up north. It was sunny and roasting on Saturday and Sunday was mostly overcast but warm. We had Simca, a fellow blipper and friend of Isabella's, as a guest this weekend. Those two are peas in a pod and have been life long friends. I was thrasing them on the tube today and blipping a few action shots. I caught THIS RATHER FUNNY ONE but then I looked to the bow of the boat while we were underway. Bonnie and Gabreilla were having a moment that only a mother and daughter can have. The smile on my wife's face said it all. I love action shots but, tonight, I listened to my heart.

Today, I also caught this image of a MONARCH BUTTERFLY whilst seating in a beach chair with a 500mm lens on the Nikon. No tripod was near me so I rested my lens on the back of the chair.

Thank you for pulling me back. It was silly of me to leave completely. My heart is much lighter tonight and my appreciation for you all makes me stand tall. And your comments on blip 200 were more kind than I ever thought one man could possibly receive in one single day. I really do not believe I feel worthy of the respect you all have given to me.

I back blippedFriday and Saturday. Carrying a camera most of the time is now something of habit. I only took one image on Friday and, unfortunately it was of Betty Bubbles....a fixture of the downtown Minneapolis scene. Off to bed I go to rest up for the week ahead. Travel this coming five days is a doozy with Minneapolis, LA, Mexico, Salt Lake City and New York City on tap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.