London - Amnesty CILIP Honour

Back in London for the Amnesty CILIP Honour launch party, in which the 2016 shortlist was announced. I feel very strongly about this new recognition, partly because I was part of the initial discussions and it was launched in my year as a chair and at my conference but mainly because I believe in the power of literature to educate children about the world, and to teach empathy and compassion.
From now on, a title from each of the Carnegie and Kate Greenaway shortlists will receive the Amnesty CILIP Honour, "a thumbs up for the books that most distinctively illuminate, uphold or celebrate freedoms."
I can't help to feel proud that I was part of this!
The photo was taken in Spitalfields market where I spent a bit of time before the event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.