KatGirl

By katgirl

Grrr

This usually happens to me at work. Not walking down my street.

I was headed to the market a 2 minute walk away. But I only made it a few doors down my street when a large dog came out from behind a car and bit my right hand. I was so astonished. When I saw him coming I thought stupidly that my soft tone of voice saying hello might stop the lunge already in progress. My screaming caught the attention of his owners who were in their front yard 1 house down. They were appropriately upset but I am afraid I was not very nice to them. My health issues make a bite on my hand a rather difficult problem compared to the average person. And, I kept thinking, what if Bob had been with me?

The puncture on my palm, although deep, missed the big vessels and nerve by a few millimeters. The punctures on the top of my hand were more numerous but not too deep. I have had much worse bites. But being bitten without provocation on the sidewalk near my house was very scary.

Unfortunately, when I went back to their house about 15 minutes later to get the rabies vaccine information on their dog, no one came to the door. So animal control will take it from here.

The dog is a Pitt bull mix. These dogs have a terrible reputation in the US, which is quite honestly blown very much out of proportion. The vast majority of these dogs are friendly pets. But it is the few that are used for fighting or who have had history of abuse or neglect who are problematic. I hope this dog's owners never have this dog outside their yard without a leash again.

Rant over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.