photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 79 of 366 - St Michael's House!

Today's image was taken in the Cathedral Quarter of Coventry City Centre. It is a view of 11 Priory Row, now known as St Michael's House. This Grade II listed Georgian Townhouse dates back to about 1721. The Building is one of three surviving Georgian Townhouses within the City Centre. This building suffered extensive damage during the blitz on Coventry during the Second World War. It was rebuilt and restored during the 1950's. The Cathedral purchased the building in 1966 and used it as office space before turning it into the home of the Dean of Coventry Cathedral. In 2011 the property was renamed as St Michael's House. It is now used partially as a centre of reconciliation and learning.

The photo was taken using the App KitCam on my iPhone 6.

First I used the app Snapseed to edit the picture. I cropped the image and changed the perspective of the building to straighten up the view. I then applied the Tonal Contrast filter to add more contrast and saturation to the image. I also boosted the saturation, ambiance and warmth. Next I used DistressedFX to add the Stirred overlay and the Lade texture. I then used Mextures to apply the preset Windansea by Justin Halbert. Finally I used PhotoToaster to add the Recover Highlights preset, a medium dark vignette and the Stone texture. Lastly I added the Charcoal frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.