Domestic Saturday

My day has been dominated by domestic related activities.

But not completely. The house is thoroughly clean, dinner is prepared for the hunter and me, and I'm all set for a day in the mountains tomorrow. My pack has iceaxe and crampons attached and my gear is packed or ready to add in the morning.

I need a day out of Christchurch. Over dinner at a friend's place last night I learned the flagship retail shop in town - Ballantynes, is continually pumping water out of the basement of their building.

Ballantynes is one block from the cathedral and has been strengthened to 100% of the new building code. What does that mean if they have to continually pump water from their basement? In another decent shake will the building just sink into the swamp but stay intact? It adds weight to my view that the land beneath the cathedral can't sustain and support a large stone building. But no one talks about the state of the land.

Is the planned rebuild of the city centre in the same location a good idea? Why is no one being honest about the state of the land in the CBD, honest about where the water table is and where underground streams are? Just tell us how buildings will be made safe on a swamp. Tell us the truth. We have one opportunity to get this right. We've ignored the history and knowledge of our land for long enough.

My excitement for the rebuild is tempered by Ballantyne's basement. Sometimes the enormity of it all is too big for me. I know when I need to get out of Christchurch and head for the hills and mountains. If the weather precludes plan A tomorrow, there is a plan B.

Some things I can't solve, but I can produce a good meal and wine to enjoy with the hunter :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.