Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Birthday party!

What an exciting day! (See extras)

Archie knew there was something up this morning - the back door was open, the front door was open, there was a flurry of unaccustomed Sunday morning activity - what on earth could it be? He had completely forgotten that we'd postponed his birthday party until Bailey and her mum could come, and of course, Rufus and his mum. Pity that Dexter couldn't make it in the end - his mum had too many visitors. But Camila, one of Archie's walkers came - what hysteria (from Archie) when she arrived! Pity that Julie couldn't come as well - he would have gone ballistic!!

It was a nice day. Though possibly not quite warm enough to sit outside, Blankets were provided and we moved the chairs into a patch of sun. The dogs had a good run around - Bailey and Archie haven't seen each other for ages. After a few glasses of bubbly, I decided to try for a photo of three dogs in party hats. It was actually easier than I anticipated - they were very obliging, though I could hardly take a photo for laughing. Though I think with the addition of Dexter, it might have proved to be a task too far...

The humans then ate part of the cake - quite a passable chocolate one, and the remainder will be taken to JR's school to get eaten up. I could probably eat it all myself over a few days, but I don't think that would be good for me.

Happy belated birthday, Archie. It was worth waiting for. Two years old. And still daft.

[Edit: I've changed the photo. This one makes me laugh and deserves to be on its own. I hope those who have given favourites to the collage don't mind... ]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.