Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Fisher

The morning sunshine beckoned so after a quick check of the community garden for butterfly activity (2 x Small Tortoiseshell) I headed out to see what was going on in the world.

My perambulation went something like this: along Baildon Bank to the tramway, down through Shipley Glen and across Trench Meadows to the river, along the Aire to Dowley Gap, up to Gilstead and to the higher reaches of Shipley Glen, around the edge of the moor past Glovershaw, down Birch Close Lane and Sconce Lane before the last stretch across the moor home.

After Dippers and Grey Wagtails aplenty I came across this Kingfisher where the river is traversed by the canal aqueduct. In amongst the flood debris I found a spot where I could sit relatively close to watch.

Elsewhere the frogs were bellowing from every muddy pool, but the highlight of the day was yet to come. Having extended my walk beyond the capacity of my knee, I was hobbling the last mile or two not paying much attention to anything. And then a Barn Owl sailed across the lane in front of me, over the next field and dipped out of sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.