YvonneThornton

By YvonneThornton

End of an Era

For the last 26 years my weekend papers have been The Independent on Saturday and Sunday.
Today it is the last time that there will be a print version of the Sunday paper.  I believe that next Saturday will be the last time the Independent appears in print on any day.
During the life of this paper I have:
- brought up four children (the youngest was only weeks old when the paper came into print)
- Lived in 8 houses
- Divorced twice, married for the second and third time
- Lost my best friend to breast cancer (20 years ago)
- Because of the above returned to college and then to University.
- Returned to work after 15 years brining up the children.
- Lost touch with friends, made new friends, kept friends
- Geoff might argue this one but I am more confident than I was 26 years ago and I am holding my head a bit higher than I did.
- Attended Squeeze concerts before this paper came into print and will continue to attend afterwards.
- Become a grandmother
- Travelled to Italy, France, Denmark, Spain, Uruguay, Mexico, USA, Thailand, New Zealand (I wonder why)
- And much much more ...............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.