CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Making progress

Since I had to be in town this morning I decided to pop in to see the problem the project coordinator had emailed me about. Work has started on Lansdown Hall's ground floor Gallery, the first stage of several improvements to the building, which the Town Council bought a couple of years ago to preserve it as a community venue, rather like a parish hall for the whole town. It was previously run as an arts space predominantly, which we will continue to do, but we want to make is accessible to all with family events and parties catered for too.

Yesterday we visited Prema in Uley, which was originally a chapel, and Lansdown Hall was constructed as a church. the similarities end there, but when Andrew and the Prema trust started refurbishing Prema there would have been similar scenes to this, with dust, debris, rubble, noise and builder's banter.

I did see the problems with the original floor whose supporting joists have a bit of rot in them. I feel sure the architect's remedy will work. I wasn't so pleased to find that the door in the new stud partition (which you can see in the far distance) was not in the right place, as agreed at our last working group meeting. I did interrupt the carpenter as he merrily constructed the new walls and doorway, but they have gone too far (not the builders' fault at all, as they had been told to do it in this way) to change back to the agreed plan, without destroying the newly constructed wall completely. This has raised issues of oversight and decision making which I will deal with at the next working group meeting. I might be a bit annoyed.

The building has closed to the public for July and August while all the work is in progress. This woman seemed to be a bit disconcerted by the changes and was being re-directed to the rear entrance.

Last time I blipped from here, I took this picture from a little further back.

A view inside the Hall, on the first floor, above the Gallery.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.