Third_eye

By Third_eye

There is no red port left!

I was taught this mnemonic many years ago to help me remember the difference between port (red=left) and starboard (green=right) but it has new meaning for me since I opened the last remaining bottle from a case of 1960 vintage Cockburn's Port which I bought half a century ago when it was young and laid down in my wine cellar to age.

No, lets be realistic about this - it was a disused coal cellar out in the back yard, infested with all kinds of creepy-crawlies, one or more of which seems to have enjoyed a nibble at the label, but that did not affect the contents and made an interesting subject for my blip today, so "cheers" everybody; even though there really is no red port left now, and the decanter will remain empty,  the memory lingers on!

Alternative shot in today's extras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.