Bamboo

Bamboo's useful, fast-growing and good
When compressed, as it's stronger than wood,
Brick and concrete or steel;
Makes for pandas a meal!
Shall we grow some? Well, maybe we should.

© Celia Warren 2016

Ooh, then we could have a pet giant panda, perhaps ...!

However, I suspect it could be a menace in a small domestic garden and one might end up wishing one had never planted it. I didn't know anyone grew it in our Devon village, but today I noticed it for the first time - probably because it has just been cut back alongside a garden near the main road.

There's something about the shape of its leaved stems in silhoutte that reminds me of Chinese brushwork, so I grew a bit artistic-designery with the image, upping the blue tint of the sky and adding text. Then I wrote a limerick to top it off.

Now I shall go and do some gardening as the sun's shining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.