Butterfingers

By Lilyrex

Crystal clear....

You might think I merely bake cakes for a living - but I see myself as a sort of social worker. People come into the cafe for a quick espresso, and then tell us the most extraordinary things.

Last week, a very Morningside lady started talking about her listless 16yr old. "She has absolutely no energy and always seems to be sniffing," she said. "She won't see a doctor though - just keeps taking the crystal meth."

My jaw dropped. Crystal meth? In Morningside?

The woman continued. "Her grandmother got her into it. They all use it in the nursing home actually - you know what it's like. One of them tries it, passes it round and now everyone's addicted."

I opened my mouth and shut it again. What on earth is the world coming to, when pensioners are taking Class A drugs with their morning coffee? What next? The WI selling crack with their marmalades?

"But where does she get it from?" I asked.

The woman looked surprised. "You can buy it everywhere. It's not expensive - ten grams lasts for ages."

I was so shocked that I ate two french fancies without thinking.

"I get mine from Lloyds pharmacy." she continued. "It's not on the shelves though; they keep it in a special drawer."

I ate another french fancy in horror. "Let me get this straight. You're buying crystal meth from the chemist?"

She frowned. "No, that's not right; what do I mean?" She thought for a moment, and then smiled. "Mentholated crystals! That's the one!"

I shoved another cake in my mouth. It stopped me from screaming.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.