Maisiebeth

By Maisiebeth

Firstly, please let me get the showing off over and done with. Have now done just over 250 miles so am a quarter of the way into my 1000 mile resolution before I am a quarter of the way into the year! Feeling proud and chuffed. 
Today, took Beth on a short hike following a stretch of the canal as yet unexplored. This one started off in Whitchurch and was fascinating. It very quickly develops into a series of 5 locks called Grindley Brook (both Beth and I thought this would be the perfect name for a gnome). None of the stretches of canal that I have so far walked have locks and it was exciting to see one in action. We saw a boat that was actually going uphill through the locks and it is interesting to watch. It looked hard work expecially for the very slight older lady who was having to wind and open the locks! But I am sure that if we had asked the Gentleman steering, he would have said that was just as hard!

Dramatic and Dangerous Places to Photograph for the Terminally Unfit and Navigationally Challenged

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.