briocarioca

By briocarioca

New kid on the block

Sleep eluded me after 4.30 a.m. and when moving to the sofa didn’t help I went out early to check up on Dookie. Worryingly, he seems worse than last night, very listless and only made the feeblest of attempts to eat anything. It’s obviously going to be a long haul, but he has to recover.
 
Then I had a wander and enjoyed lots of bird and squirrel activity. I had only heard this little bird before and thought it might be the Trogon returning, as its call is shorter but similar – and surprisingly loud for such a little creature. Anyway, he kindly let me get quite close, even if he did keep hiding behind the leaves. I shouldn’t really have been happy to see the squirrel, as they’ll help to reduce the bird population, but they are fun to watch. I’ll look for him again tomorrow, rather than post another extra photo.
 
I seem to have split most of the day between ferrying HH to and fro and cosseting Dookie. When I took Kayla for a walk, he was desperate to follow and cannoned down the drive after us, but reality caught up with him further down the road and I had to put him into the boot of the car. When we got home, he didn’t want to leave it – maybe he thought we were about to go down to Rio, maybe just because it was nice and warm on his bed of newspapers. Today’s the first day of autumn, and the weather seems to know it – the temperature has dropped several degrees, so I’ll bring him into the house tonight.
 
Waiting for HH at the club, I revisited the flycatchers down by the river. The babies already seem more adventurous and had flown up onto separate branches of a tree on the bank. When the parent bird brought food, he/ she seemed to demonstrate by flapping her wings what the one furthest away should do to reach the food, which it then managed to do. While I watched, the one who always seems to get the lions’ share of any food that’s going also managed to catch a fly for itself. That bird will go far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.