The bigger picture

Firstly, I want to say how amazed and happy I am that yesterday's blip got so many views, especially when I expected it not to be noticed at all so thank you .... 
 
Pictured is today's performer from my Music on Mondays series, when this (academic) year I have been encouraging students to perform and share their talent every Monday lunchtime. Today's performance was from one of our most able pianists who will be graduating this summer. Lovely Bach and Chopin player, today he played his own jazz-styled-but-Bach-&-Chopin influenced compositions built around his own themes and rhythms with lush yet sometimes surprisingly percussive harmonies - almost disturbingly mesmeric. He also played a piece in recognition of Istanbul's terror on Saturday.  The audience, appreciative of his music, got me thinking.   It is my job, is it not, to show young folk how they can find solace and balance in the bigger picture of life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.