Longtailed tit on the clematis

I got up early to have a bath before going to the council office. The sun was shining and the frosty landscape was just beginning to thaw.  As I sipped my tea in bed while the bath ran I was tempted to get up to photograph the many birds which were pecking away at the furry buds on the tree outside the window.  There were goldfinches, bullfinches, various tits and even a nuthatch. But by the time I got prepared they had headed off to the feeders.

I went downstairs and was rather captivated by the backlighting from the sun on the branches and buds.  I've added a picture of one of the tits, which eventually returned to feed, on the branch with a mouthful of a bud. A pair of longtailed tits came to the fence outside the back door which is covered with a clematis montana that will soon flower profusely.  It climbed in and out of the thick bare lattice of the clematis' branches and stood on the outside and stared at me.  I couldn't resist blipping its lovely eyes.  I've also added a picture of one of the many squirrels which usually try hard to take all the sunflowers from one of the feeders. I think my presence in the doorway made it sit and wait on the cabin roof.  I've rather given in to them although I do regard them as a terrible pests but they are rather cute at times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.