Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Ex terra lucem - "from the earth comes light"

Oh, I just love being in the UK :)
I packed up work at 4pm today and went out in search of the Big Picture for the Mono Monday challenge.
I had one place in mind........

Dream
The people of Sutton Manor had wanted some form of monument to the former colliery at the heart of their community ever since its closure in 1991. As part of the C4's "the Big Art Project, Sutton Manor was one of seven sites selected. It was commissioned by Jaume Plensa  and finished in May 2009.
Dream takes the form of a 20 metre high girl's head with her eyes closed, seemingly in a dream-like state, resting on a plinth bearing the inscription "Dream Sutton Manor" inspired by the small, circular "tally" each miner carried as a means of identification.
 
The notion is simple but profound, for in Jaume's own words "in our dreams, anything is possible..

Even though it is only 10 minutes from where I live, I had never visited it before, only seen it glowing in the evening sun on the way home from work. It's on the top of a hill right next to the M62 in amongst the trees.

I'm not sure it really fits the "Big Picture" brief, more of a big face, but I thought it looked quite nice in the sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.