Shut the world out

This is my youngest sitting playing a game on his IPad with his headphones on. To the right and behind me out of shot is noise and clapping as his brothers participate in a martial arts grading and get some more tabs on their belts. I wanted to see them get their award and the only way I could so is to take him along complete with his protection from the outside world. He can't cope with noise and bustle as he's autistic and his brain is overpowered by stuff the rest of us take for granted. His protection from that is to create a world around him that he's comfortable with and able to deal with. In this case, today, an IPad game. So we were all happy; his brothers with a successful grading, me cos I saw the awards and him cos of what I said earlier. This is the practical side of dealing with hidden disabilities; something the vast majority of Tory MPs who seem to think it's fine to persecute disabled people and their carers will never understand or even try to understand. The events of the cuts announced in the 2016 budget and the saga around the back stabbing twisted scum who pass themselves of as politicians and leaders of government in the UK have left me in total despair as to what the future holds for my boy here. Having or caring for a disability is hard enough without having to battle those who hold the means to providing support and respite as well. I was going to say the government should be ashamed of what it's doing to disabled people but as the right dishonourable members come from a party of selfishness, individualism and greed, it's not likely they will or will even care that many share my view of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.