Real Boy

Phil and I went to the BFI tonight and we saw Real Boy, a beautiful film about Bennett Wallace formerly Rachel, it documents his transition over a 4 year period and his amazing Mother's journey to come to terms with it and also his relationship with transgender musician Joe Stevens who mentors Ben and helps him make his album and with his friend Dylan also going through the same process. More on Ben HERE.
Documentary film maker Shaleece Haas has made such an incredible movie!
Shaleece and Ben are pictured here, they were there tonight and it was the first time the film had been shown publicly, there was a q&a and I met them both afterwards and bought one of Ben's albums which he signed for me.


We also saw Sworn Virgin, a thought provoking movie about a woman who lives as a man in her village in Albania in order to be allowed to shoot and do other manly things but eventually leaves for Milan and rediscovers her femininity. 


I was supposed to be songwriting today but I had an attack of insomnia which lasted from 1-7am.... mainly worrying about my mum, I slept for a few hours and popped in to see her before going into town, she had another fall at 6.30 am and has a black eye.... I threw away the old magazines, flowers and plants, got the staff to clean her table, chased up the missing laundry and talked to the lead nurse about her fall, she has now been checked over and is ok.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.