Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

A key moment

We spent today walking. We set off from the cottage and went down into Grosmont, and from there we took the route to the east of the river Murk Esk through woodland, farmland and finally moorland past Beck Hole and down to Goathland. It was quite slippery and muddy in places and I managed to fall over in some mud once but only my pride was hurt and more importantly, the camera was fine. We'd taken a picnic lunch but still decided to stop for a drink at the Goathland Hotel (otherwise known as the Adenfield Arms for those of you who used to watch 'Heartbeat', which was filmed in Goathland). We considered getting the steam train back to Grosmont but decided to walk instead, taking the 'Rail Trail' route to the west of the river which is easier walking but not as interesting. We think we did around eight miles in total which may not be a massive amount but with the 'up and down' nature of the first half of the walk our feet and legs knew they'd been worked!

On arrival back at Grosmont this train was just leaving the station; the signalman is just handing the driver the 'key' needed before the train can continue onto the single track section of the line.

Thanks for all the comments, stars and hearts on my Blips this week; all very much appreciated. I mentioned the cottage does not have wi-fi but I've been able to use my mobile phone as a 'hot-spot' to upload my Blips. However, I'm not sure how much spare data allowance I have available so I apologise for not commenting or replying - I'll catch up next week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.