Third_eye

By Third_eye

Give me this day . . .

... My Daily Walk.

I decided today to resume my riverside walks, which I enjoyed nearly every day for my first ten years living here near the Suffolk tidal river Deben but have been unable to continue on a regular basis since a series of falls in recent years led to diagnosis of a degenerative condition now under control by medication.  I have been warned not to expect or try to return to my former routine of walking for at least three hours a day, but it is good to get out, even if only for a few minutes, two or three times a week to enjoy the fresh air and take a photograph or two.

I hope in this new series to chronicle a year's activities on and near the Deben at the upper part of its tidal reach, and started by joining the river path at the point nearest to my home, intending to follow it upstream to the quay, marina, town centre, and its confluence with the freshwater river, but found the route blocked by this notice and a construction gang working on major repairs to the flood defences, estimated to take six months to complete.  It is unfortunate timing so close to Easter, traditionally the start of the season for leisure sailors, walkers and visitors from far and wide, but it is a job that has to be done before further erosion causes worse problems.

So my walks will now cover a series of routes avoiding this break in the middle - a slight inconvenience but an adventure which should provide a nice range of photo opportunities from boat building to children's crabbing competitions, wildlife, and more.  Not every day or on a specific day each week, but whenever weather and fitness permit.

They will all be tagged Daily Walk and should, if I understand correctly (as a very new user!), be viewable as a collection by searching #dailywalk@third-eye ... But I am sure that veteran blippers will put me right if necessary, so thank you in advance for any kind offers of help.

I should add that I might not publish every shot in this series on the day taken, but to achieve editorial coherence am more likely to follow the daily newspaper practice of publishing today's news and pictures tomorrow, by which time they will have occurred yesterday - the closest "today-ness" possible in the pre-digital age or, indeed, in any of today's printed publications.  I hope this will be acceptable and not in breach of the rules or ethos of blipping.

Thank you for reading this first essay; any comments, criticism or suggestions will be welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.