Cuties At The Dog Park...Huh?

What a morning! A pair of Red-shouldered Hawks have been flying through the Dog Park now for several months. Of course, when I see them, I don't usually have my camera with me. And an iPhone shot of a flying hawk just isn't gonna make it. But this morning I heard a commotion with a lot of 'hawk-type' calling and went in search of the source. Spotted this handsome male RsH flying through the tree canopy carrying a rather unwieldy stick in his talons. He flew to the pair's nest high up in a pine tree. By her excited calls, the mom-to-be was very pleased to see him. Evidently that was the 'perfect' stick! These hawks have chosen to nest and raise their young right in the middle of the dog park! She appears to be sitting on eggs as of this posting. Hope all goes well and I'm able to get some good shots of Red-shouldered chicks! Tomorrow Connie, Tara and I are heading off on a two-week RoadTrip. We will be visiting long-time friends in the mountains of Northwest Georgia and then traveling west to Arkansas to visit my cousin and her hubby. Since internet service is sometimes a bit 'iffy' in the mountains, I'll do my best to Blip each day but comments might be slower (than usual). This is Tara's very first RoadTrip and she's Very Excited!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.