Grassed up

I don't usually do bird photos – mainly because my camera has a fixed lens and they've invariably buggered off before I can get close enough. This one was an exception. I found it in the garden and I fully expected it to fly off, but no. It just sat there checking me out as I slowly crept closer. I then began to think that perhaps it was injured, but after two or three minutes of me impersonating David Attenborough it flew off. Perhaps it couldn't stand any more whispering from me asking it to turn its head a bit further to the left.

I think this is a Dunnock, erroneously called a Hedge Sparrow, when in fact it isn't a sparrow but actually belongs to the small group of birds known as Accentors (Prunellidae).

Right, that's enough twitching from me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.