Oval

Oval (from Latin ovum, “egg”) a closed curve in a plane which loosely resembles the outline of an egg.

I’ve spent a lot of time recently photographing and processing complex natural shapes (all those crinkly bits!) so it’s a nice change to slip into a bit of minimalism. I fretted for a while that the black eclipse line didn’t line up with the equator of the egg before I thought about the problems of representing three dimensional shapes as two dimensional images. If you think about it, solving this problem tells you a lot about the geometry of an oval.

How minimal? This simple composition seems perfect for black and white conversion, but in the end the colour version showing the blue of the LED light won out SOOC. Happy Easter everyone, and thanks for all the hearts and starts for yesterday's spider. I can't remember the last time one of my photos got into the Popular pages, and I'm surprised this one did, being a spider, but thank you to everyone. 


https://ajcann.wordpress.com/2016/03/24/oval/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.