So I Did Sit and Eat

"Love", by George Herbert:

Love bade me welcome; yet my soul drew back,
              Guilty of dust and sin.
But quick-eyed Love, observing me grow slack
              From my first entrance in,
Drew nearer to me, sweetly questioning,
              If I lack'd any thing.

(and then a see-sawing argument where Love insists on welcoming and the soul insists on feeling unworthy, ending with Love being very firm, and the soul submitting...)

You must sit down, says Love, and taste my meat:
             So I did sit and eat.

We're going in a bit to a shared supper with the church here, and Communion - I'm making smoked salmon, cream cheese and cucumber sandwiches with M's sourdough - hoping the Portuguese approve... Would probably have yielded photos to match the poem better, but we went for a walk by the river, and the banks were covered in poppies and other flowers, backlit by the sun - I loved this one of a dead one, even more stunning than the fresh ones. And love's meat, for me at least, definitely includes beauty, and I cannot describe to you the beauty of those miles of shining poppies...

If Internet allows, will post an extra of M, minus his trousers, wading back across the river to help me cross...not so beautiful, but definitely Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.