Who was Trooper Gordon Streets?

 When looking for my great grandmother's grave I had dismissed this grave memorialising Trooper Gordon Streets because there was no Gordon on the family tree given to me by my late father.  The helpful vicar however confirmed this is indeed the grave of my great grandmother, so who is Gordon?   I have discovered that Gordon's full name was Victory Gordon, born in 1919 at the end of WW1  - hence "Victory", but he called himself Jimmy (wouldn't you!) . I have introduced you to Uncle Jimmy before  - his name is on the memorial in Tatsfield Church.  

Mystery solved- Jimmy inside the church and Gordon outside; memorialised on his mother's grave ( he is actually buried in Italy)  I wonder if my father even knew his uncle's real name?   I am really pleased to unravelled this because I could find no birth records for a James Streets and now I know why. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.