Saturday ride on Friday

As the weather here looks awful tomorrow the club ride was changed to today. We cycled 65 miles! We went to Rockingham - to a cafe I have never been to and then on to Geddington (never been there either) where this Eleanor Cross was.

When Eleanor of Castile, the first wife of Edward I, died at Harby, near Lincoln, in 1290, the grief-stricken king was driven to create the most elaborate series of funerary monuments to any queen of England. He ordered the building of 12 elegant crosses to mark each of the resting places of his wife’s funeral procession as it travelled from Lincoln to her burial place at Westminster Abbey, London. The best-preserved of these lies at the centre of the little village of Geddington. 

Everyone was in great spirits with such beautiful weather. I have included a pic of me and Mr PB on the tandem and me with the matching teapot

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.